James Madison Society

The James Madison Society is an international community of scholars whose research contributes significantly to civic education in institutions of higher learning. Members of the Society share the belief of James Madison that only a well-instructed people can be permanently free. They also share a commitment to instill within rising generations an appreciation of the common good and the moral foundations of democratic governance. The Society provides a forum through which scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in constitutional law, political thought, and related fields can engage in intensive discussions about their research and teaching.

Board of Consulting Scholars

Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
John M. Finnis
  • Biolchini Family Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
  • Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy Emeritus, University of Oxford
Mary Ann Glendon
  • Learned Hand Professor of Law Emerita, Harvard University
Leon R. Kass
  • Addie Clark Harding Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought and the College, The University of Chicago
  • Dean of the Faculty, Shalem College, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Madden-Jewett Chair Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
Harvey C. Mansfield
  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Paul R. McHugh
  • University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry
  • Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Johns Hopkins University
Gilbert C. Meilaender
  • Senior Research Professor, Valparaiso University
David Novak
  • J. Richard & Dorothy Shiff Chair of Jewish Studies and Professor of Religion and Philosophy, University of Toronto
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel N. Robinson ~ d. 2018
  • Fellow, Faculty of Philosophy, Adjunct Fellow, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University
James Q. Wilson ~ d. 2012
  • Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
  • Former President, American Political Science Association
  • Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Members of the James Madison Society

Thomas D. D'Andrea
  • Director, Centre for the Study of Philosophy, Politics, and Religion (CSPPR), Cambridge, UK
  • 2001-02 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
David G. Dalin
  • Adjunct Scholar at the Ethics and Public Policy Center, and Professor of History, Ave Maria University
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Marc O. DeGirolami
  • Cary Fields Professor of Law; Associate Director, Center for Law and Religion, St. John's University School of Law
  • Spring 2019 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Jonathan Den Hartog
  • Chair, Department of History; Professor of American History, Samford University
  • 2012-13 James Madison Program Garwood Visiting Fellow
Patrick J. Deneen
  • Professor of Political Science, David A. Potenziani Memorial College Chair, University of Notre Dame
  • 2008-09 James Madison Program Ann and Herbert W. Vaughan Visiting Fellow
John P. DiIulio *18
  • James N. Perry Scholar of Philosophy, Politics, and Society, Program for Research on Religion and Urban Civil Society (PRRUCS), University of Pennsylvania
  • 2018-19 James Madison Program Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
John J. DiIulio, Jr.
  • Frederic Fox Leadership Professor of Politics, Religion, and Civil Society, and Professor of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania
John J. Dinan
  • Professor of Politics and International Affairs, Wake Forest University
  • 2009-10 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion and Public Life
Daniel DiSalvo
  • Professor and Chair of Political Science, Colin Powell School for Civic and Global Leadership, City College of New York–CUNY
  • Senior Fellow, Manhattan Institute
  • 2016-17 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel DiSalvo

Daniel DiSalvo, 2016-17 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow, is Associate Professor of Political Science in the Colin Powell School at the City College of New York–CUNY, and a Senior Fellow at the Manhattan Institute. His scholarship focuses on American political parties, interest groups, and public policy. He is the author of Engines of Change: Party Factions in American Politics, 1868–2010 (Oxford, 2012) and Government Against Itself: Public Union Power and Its Consequences (Oxford, 2015). He writes frequently for scholarly and popular publications, including National Affairs, City Journal, American Interest, Commentary, The Weekly Standard, Los Angeles Times, New York Daily News, and New York Post. He is coeditor of The Forum: A Journal of Applied Research in Contemporary Politics. He earned his Ph.D in Politics from the University of Virginia.

Donald L. Drakeman *88
  • Distinguished Research Professor, Program in Constitutional Studies, University of Notre Dame
  • Fellow in Health Management, University of Cambridge
  • Chair Emeritus, James Madison Program Advisory Council
Daniel L. Dreisbach
  • Professor in the School of Public Affairs, American University in Washington, D.C.
  • 2006-07 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion an Public Life
Charles R. Drummond, IV
  • Associate, McKinsey & Company
  • 2015-16 James Madison Program Garwood Postdoctoral Research Associate