James Madison Society

The James Madison Society is an international community of scholars whose research contributes significantly to civic education in institutions of higher learning. Members of the Society share the belief of James Madison that only a well-instructed people can be permanently free. They also share a commitment to instill within rising generations an appreciation of the common good and the moral foundations of democratic governance. The Society provides a forum through which scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in constitutional law, political thought, and related fields can engage in intensive discussions about their research and teaching.

Board of Consulting Scholars

Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
John M. Finnis
  • Biolchini Family Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
  • Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy Emeritus, University of Oxford
Mary Ann Glendon
  • Learned Hand Professor of Law Emerita, Harvard University
Leon R. Kass
  • Addie Clark Harding Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought and the College, The University of Chicago
  • Dean of the Faculty, Shalem College, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Madden-Jewett Chair Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
Harvey C. Mansfield
  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Research Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Paul R. McHugh
  • University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry
  • Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Johns Hopkins University
Gilbert C. Meilaender
  • Senior Research Professor, Valparaiso University
David Novak
  • J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Professor Emeritus of Religion, Philosophy, and Jewish Studies, and Fellow of St. Michael's College, University of Toronto
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel N. Robinson ~ d. 2018
  • Fellow, Faculty of Philosophy, Adjunct Fellow, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University
James Q. Wilson ~ d. 2012
  • Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
  • Former President, American Political Science Association
  • Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Members of the James Madison Society

John T. Agresto
  • Former Chancellor and Provost, American University of Iraq in Sulaimani
  • Retired President, St. John’s College in Santa Fe
  • Probate Judge, Santa Fe County, 2017 - 2019 (retired)
  • 2008-09 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Stephanie M. Ahrens
  • Postdoctoral Associate at Boston University’s Kilachand Honors College
  • 2021-22 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Rachel K. Alexander Cambre
  • Visiting Fellow, B. Kenneth Simon Center for American Studies and the Center for Education Policy, The Heritage Foundation
  • 2019-2020 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow
J. Joel Alicea '10
  • Assistant Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Project on Constitutional Originalism and the Catholic Intellectual Tradition, Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
Adeline A. Allen
  • Professor of Law, Trinity Law School
  • 2017-­18 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
William B. Allen
  • Professor Emeritus of Political Science, Michigan State University
  • 2006-07 James Madison Program Ann and Herbert W. Vaughan Visiting Fellow
Nicholas Anderson
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Thomas Jefferson Center, UT Austin
  • 2022-23 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Lecturer in Politics

Owen J. Anderson
  • Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies; Faculty Senate President, West Campus; Program Lead, Philosophy, Religion, and Society; Honors Faculty
  • School of Humanities, Arts & Cultural Studies, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, Arizona State University
  • 2013-14 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion and Public Life
Ryan T. Anderson '04
  • President, Ethics and Public Policy Center
  • St. John Paul II Teaching Fellow in Social Thought, University of Dallas
Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Jed W. Atkins
  • E. Blake Byrne Associate Professor of Classical Studies and Associate Professor of Political Science, Duke University
  • Fall 2019 Visiting Fellow