James Madison Society

The James Madison Society is an international community of scholars whose research contributes significantly to civic education in institutions of higher learning. Members of the Society share the belief of James Madison that only a well-instructed people can be permanently free. They also share a commitment to instill within rising generations an appreciation of the common good and the moral foundations of democratic governance. The Society provides a forum through which scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in constitutional law, political thought, and related fields can engage in intensive discussions about their research and teaching.

Board of Consulting Scholars

Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
John M. Finnis
  • Biolchini Family Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
  • Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy Emeritus, University of Oxford
Mary Ann Glendon
  • Learned Hand Professor of Law Emerita, Harvard University
Leon R. Kass
  • Addie Clark Harding Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought and the College, The University of Chicago
  • Dean of the Faculty, Shalem College, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Madden-Jewett Chair Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
Harvey C. Mansfield
  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Research Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Paul R. McHugh
  • University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry
  • Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Johns Hopkins University
Gilbert C. Meilaender
  • Senior Research Professor, Valparaiso University
David Novak
  • J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Professor Emeritus of Religion, Philosophy, and Jewish Studies, and Fellow of St. Michael's College, University of Toronto
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel N. Robinson ~ d. 2018
  • Fellow, Faculty of Philosophy, Adjunct Fellow, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University
James Q. Wilson ~ d. 2012
  • Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
  • Former President, American Political Science Association
  • Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Members of the James Madison Society

Keegan F. Callanan
  • Associate Professor of Political Science, Middlebury College
  • Founding Director, Alexander Hamilton Forum, Middlebury College
  • 2021-24 Forbes Visiting Research Collaborator
  • 2020-21 Forbes Visiting Fellow
  • 2017­-18 Visiting Fellow
Alexis Carré
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Texas at Austin
  • 2022-23 Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
Paul O. Carrese
  • Director and Professor, School of Civic & Economic Thought and Leadership, Arizona State University
  • 2012-13 James Madison Program Forbes Visiting Fellow
Adam M. Carrington
  • Associate Professor of Politics, Hillsdale College
  • William and Patricia LaMothe Chair in the U.S. Constitution
  • 2020-21 James Madison Program Garwood Visiting Fellow
James W. Ceaser
  • Harry F. Byrd Professor of Politics, Woodrow Wilson Department of Politics, University of Virginia
  • Director, Program on Constitutionalism and Democracy, University of Virginia
  • Spring 2008 James Madison Program Garwood Senior Visiting Research Scholar
J. Daryl Charles
  • Acton Institute Affiliated Scholar in Theology & Ethics
  • Affiliated Scholar, John Jay Institute
  • Contributing editor of Providence: A Journal of Christianity and American Foreign Policy
  • Contributing editor of Touchstone
  • 2007-08 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion and Public Life
Kyu-Been Chun
  • Asness Fellow, Penn Initiative for the Study of Markets, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2021-22 Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
Elżbieta Ciżewska-Martyńska
  • Assistant Professor of History of Ideas and Sociology, University of Warsaw
  • 2016-17 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Eric R. Claeys '89
  • Professor of Law, Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University
  • Spring 2017 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Robert L. Clinton
  • Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
  • 2007-08 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion and Public Life
Angelo M. Codevilla ~ d. 2021
  • Professor Emeritus of International Relations, Boston University
  • 2003-04 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
José A. Colen
  • Professor, Center of Ethics, Politics, and Society, University of Minho
  • 2016-17 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Kody W. Cooper
  • Associate Professor, Institute of American Civics, University of Tennessee - Knoxville
  • 2014-15 James Madison Program Postdoctoral Research Associate
Shawn Phillip Cooper
  • Assistant Editor, The European Conservative
  • Contributing Editor, The Lamp Magazine
  • 2022-23 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Juan Pablo Couyoumdjian
  • Associate Professor of Economics; Director of the Political Economy Program, Universidad del Desarrollo, Chile
  • 2015-16 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Jesse D. Covington
  • Professor of Political Science and Director of the Augustinian Scholars Program, Westmont College
  • 2014-15 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion and Public Life
Aurelian Craiutu
  • Professor of Political Science, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • 2014-15 James Madison Program Ann and Herbert W. Vaughan Visiting Fellow
Flynn J. Cratty
  • Associate Director, Human Flourishing Program, Harvard University
  • 2019-2020 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Barry J. Cushman
  • John P. Murphy Foundation Professor of Law, University of Notre Dame
  • Spring 2012 James Madison Program Forbes Visiting Fellow
Agata Czarnecka
  • Assistant Professor of Law, Nicolaus Copernicus University
  • 2022-23 Visiting Fellow