James Madison Society

The James Madison Society is an international community of scholars whose research contributes significantly to civic education in institutions of higher learning. Members of the Society share the belief of James Madison that only a well-instructed people can be permanently free. They also share a commitment to instill within rising generations an appreciation of the common good and the moral foundations of democratic governance. The Society provides a forum through which scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in constitutional law, political thought, and related fields can engage in intensive discussions about their research and teaching.

Board of Consulting Scholars

Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
John M. Finnis
  • Biolchini Family Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
  • Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy Emeritus, University of Oxford
Mary Ann Glendon
  • Learned Hand Professor of Law Emerita, Harvard University
Leon R. Kass
  • Addie Clark Harding Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought and the College, The University of Chicago
  • Dean of the Faculty, Shalem College, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Madden-Jewett Chair Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
Harvey C. Mansfield
  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Research Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Paul R. McHugh
  • University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry
  • Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Johns Hopkins University
Gilbert C. Meilaender
  • Senior Research Professor, Valparaiso University
David Novak
  • J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Professor Emeritus of Religion, Philosophy, and Jewish Studies, and Fellow of St. Michael's College, University of Toronto
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel N. Robinson ~ d. 2018
  • Fellow, Faculty of Philosophy, Adjunct Fellow, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University
James Q. Wilson ~ d. 2012
  • Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
  • Former President, American Political Science Association
  • Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Members of the James Madison Society

  • AWC Postdoctoral Fellow, Hamilton Center, University of Florida
  • 2023-24 Postdoctoral Research Associate
Mark David Hall
  • Professor in Regent University’s Robertson School of Government
  • 2022-23 Garwood Visiting Fellow

Philip Hamburger '79
  • Maurice & Hilda Friedman Professor of Law, Columbia Law School
James Hankins
  • Professor of History, Harvard University
  • 2022-23 Garwood Visiting Fellow
Susan E. Hanssen
  • Associate Professor, Department of History, University of Dallas
  • 2010-11 James Madison Program Garwood Visiting Fellow
William Anthony Hay
  • Associate Director for Public Programs and Professor, School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership, Arizona State University
  • 2019-2020 Garwood Visiting Fellow
Sara M. Henary
  • Associate Professor of Political Science, Missouri State University
  • 2010-11 James Madison Program Olin-Lehrman Postdoctoral Research Associate
Anne Hendershott
  • Professor of Sociology and Director of the Veritas Center for Ethics in Public Life, Franciscan University of Steubenville
  • Distinguished Visiting Professor of Public Policy, The King’s College
  • 2004-05 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Aaron Herold
  • Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and International Relations at SUNY Geneseo
  • Coordinator of Legal Studies, SUNY Geneseo
  • Co-Director of the Forum on Constitutionalism and Democracy, SUNY Geneseo
  • 2023-24 Visiting Fellow
Heather E. Heying
  • 2019-2021 Visiting Fellow
Zena Hitz
  • Tutor, St. John's College, Annapolis
  • Founder and President, Catherine Project
  • 2023-24 Visiting Fellow
  • 2010-11 Visiting Fellow
Matthew S. Holland
  • President of Utah Valley University (2009-2018)
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Carson L. Holloway
  • Professor of Political Science and Department Chair, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Thomas D. Howes
  • Lecturer in Politics, Princeton University
  • 2022-23 James Madison Program Postdoctoral Research Fellow; Lecturer in Politics
  • 2020-21 James Madison Program Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
Nasser Hussain
  • Associate Director, Civic Life and Thought Initiative, Duke University
  • 2022-23 Postdoctoral Research Associate; Lecturer in Politics at Princeton
  • 2021-22 Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate; Lecturer in Politics at Princeton