James Madison Society

The James Madison Society is an international community of scholars whose research contributes significantly to civic education in institutions of higher learning. Members of the Society share the belief of James Madison that only a well-instructed people can be permanently free. They also share a commitment to instill within rising generations an appreciation of the common good and the moral foundations of democratic governance. The Society provides a forum through which scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in constitutional law, political thought, and related fields can engage in intensive discussions about their research and teaching.

Board of Consulting Scholars

Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
John M. Finnis
  • Biolchini Family Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
  • Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy Emeritus, University of Oxford
Mary Ann Glendon
  • Learned Hand Professor of Law Emerita, Harvard University
Leon R. Kass
  • Addie Clark Harding Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought and the College, The University of Chicago
  • Dean of the Faculty, Shalem College, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Madden-Jewett Chair Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
Harvey C. Mansfield
  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Research Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Paul R. McHugh
  • University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry
  • Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Johns Hopkins University
Gilbert C. Meilaender
  • Senior Research Professor, Valparaiso University
David Novak
  • J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Professor Emeritus of Religion, Philosophy, and Jewish Studies, and Fellow of St. Michael's College, University of Toronto
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel N. Robinson ~ d. 2018
  • Fellow, Faculty of Philosophy, Adjunct Fellow, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University
James Q. Wilson ~ d. 2012
  • Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
  • Former President, American Political Science Association
  • Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Members of the James Madison Society

Dennis M. Patterson
  • Board of Governors Professor of Law and Philosophy, Rutgers University, Camden
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
James M. Patterson
  • Associate Professor and Chair of Politics, Ave Maria University
  • Research Fellow, Center for Religion, Culture, and Democracy
  • President, The Ciceronian Society
  • Fellow, Institute for Human Ecology, Catholic University of America
  • 2014-15 James Madison Program Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
Michael Stokes Paulsen
  • Distinguished University Chair and Professor of Law, University of St. Thomas School of Law
  • Spring 2018 Visiting Professor in the Department of Politics and Visiting Fellow
Alan Cecil Petigny ~ d. 2013
  • Associate Professor of History, University of Florida
  • 2010-11 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Danilo Petranovich
  • Director, Abigail Adams Institute, Harvard University
Daniel Philpott
  • Professor of Political Science, University of Notre Dame
Anne R. Pierce
  • Author and Commentator - American Politics and Society
Nathan Pinkoski
  • Assistant Professor of Humanities, Hamilton Center, University of Florida
  • 2017-18 James Madison Program Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
Allen Porter '10
  • Assistant Professor of Philosophy in the Center for Arts and Letters at the University of Austin (starting July 2025)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Florida's Hamilton Center
  • 2021-22 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Andrew R. Porwancher
  • Professor; Director of Graduate Studies, School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership, Arizona State University
  • Spring 2018 James Madison Program Garwood Visiting Fellow
Saikrishna B. Prakash
  • James Monroe Distinguished Professor of Law; Albert Clark Tate Jr. Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School
  • Fall 2008 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow