James Madison Society

The James Madison Society is an international community of scholars whose research contributes significantly to civic education in institutions of higher learning. Members of the Society share the belief of James Madison that only a well-instructed people can be permanently free. They also share a commitment to instill within rising generations an appreciation of the common good and the moral foundations of democratic governance. The Society provides a forum through which scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in constitutional law, political thought, and related fields can engage in intensive discussions about their research and teaching.

Board of Consulting Scholars

Hadley P. Arkes
  • Edward Ney Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus, Amherst College
  • Director, James Wilson Institute on Natural Rights & the American Founding
  • 2002-03 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
John M. Finnis
  • Biolchini Family Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Notre Dame
  • Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy Emeritus, University of Oxford
Mary Ann Glendon
  • Learned Hand Professor of Law Emerita, Harvard University
Leon R. Kass
  • Addie Clark Harding Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought and the College, The University of Chicago
  • Dean of the Faculty, Shalem College, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Madden-Jewett Chair Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
Harvey C. Mansfield
  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Research Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Paul R. McHugh
  • University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry
  • Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
  • Johns Hopkins University
Gilbert C. Meilaender
  • Senior Research Professor, Valparaiso University
David Novak
  • J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Professor Emeritus of Religion, Philosophy, and Jewish Studies, and Fellow of St. Michael's College, University of Toronto
  • 2005-06 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Daniel N. Robinson ~ d. 2018
  • Fellow, Faculty of Philosophy, Adjunct Fellow, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University
James Q. Wilson ~ d. 2012
  • Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy, Pepperdine University
  • Former President, American Political Science Association
  • Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom

Members of the James Madison Society

Karen Taliaferro
  • Assistant Professor, School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership, Arizona State University
  • 2015-16 James Madison Program Thomas W. Smith Postdoctoral Research Associate
G. Alan Tarr
  • Board of Governors Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science, Director, Center for State Constitutional Studies, Rutgers University-Camden
  • 2013-14 James Madison Program Ann and Herbert W. Vaughan Visiting Fellow
F. Flagg Taylor IV
  • Associate Professor of Political Science, Skidmore College
  • 2018-19 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Steven M. Teles
  • Professor of Political Science, Johns Hopkins University
  • 2003-04 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Juan Alonso Tello Mendoza
  • Professor of Law, University of Barcelona
  • Visiting Assistant Professor for International Human Rights Law at the Catholic University of America - Fall 2023
  • 2022-23 Margarita Salas Visiting Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Adam M. Thomas
  • Associate Director, Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism, Clemson University
  • 2018-19 James Madison Program Postdoctoral Research Associate
C. Bradley Thompson
  • Executive Director of the Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism and Professor in the Department of Political Science, Clemson University
  • 2004-05 James Madison Program Garwood Visiting Fellow
David J. Thunder
  • Permanent Research Fellow, Institute for Culture and Society, University of Navarra
  • 2008-09 James Madison Program Postdoctoral Research Associate
Christopher O. Tollefsen
  • College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor, Department of Philosophy, University of South Carolina
  • 2004-05 and 2011-12 James Madison Program Visiting Fellow
Ján Tomaštík
  • PhD Candidate, Masaryk University
  • 2022-23 Visiting Student Research Collaborator
Oliver Traldi
  • 2023-24 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Nicholas R. Troester
  • HR Professional
  • 2010-11 James Madison Program Postdoctoral Research Associate
Carl R. Trueman
  • Professor of Biblical and Religious Studies, Grove City College
  • 2017-18 James Madison Program William E. Simon Visiting Fellow in Religion and Public Life
David L. Tubbs *01
  • Associate Professor of Politics, The King’s College, NY
  • 2017-18 James Madison Program Ann and Herbert W. Vaughan Visiting Fellow
Ian Tuttle
  • 2023-24 John and Daria Barry Postdoctoral Research Fellow